jerry lucas

#2 Jerry Lucas

When: 1959-1962

Sport(s): Basketball- Power Forward

A member of the 1916 NCAA championship team, Jerry Lucas averaged 26.3 points and 16.4 rebounds per game. Lucas was named Player of the Year in 1961 and 1962, and was the Big Ten Player of the Year all three years. During the 1961 NCAA tournament, Lucas became the first player ever to record a “30-30”, scoring 33 points and grabbing 30 rebounds against Kentucky. Lucas was selected to the 1960 USA Olympic team, which won the gold medal. Lucas was selected by the Cincinnati Royals in 1963. Lucas’s jersey, number 11, was only the second to be retired at Ohio State.

Awards: 1960 NCAA Champion, 1973 NBA Champion, 7x NBA All-star, 1964 NBA Rookie of the Year, 1960 Olympic Gold Medal, 3x All-American


#1 Archie Griffin

When: 1972-1975

Sport(s): Football- Running back

The only college football player to with the Heisman Trophy twice, Archie Griffin set a single-game rushing record of 239 yards in only his third game as a freshman. In his four years, Griffin rushed for at least 100 yards in 34 games, including a NCAA record 31 consecutive games. Griffin won four Big Ten Championships, and was the first player to start in four Rose Bowls. Griffin finished with 5,889 rushing yards, and was drafted 24th overall in the 1976 NFL draft by the Cincinnati Bengals.

Awards: 1974 & 1975 Heisman Trophy Winner, 4x Big Ten Champion, 2x Big Ten MVP, 2x UPI Player of the Year, 1975 Maxwell Award


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :