Brantley, Gomes Take Home Silver Slugger Honors


Michael Brantley, and Yan Gomes were named Silver Slugger award winners last night for the American League. This is the first time that the Indians have had more than one winner since 1996, when Albert Belle and Jim Thome both won.

brantley1Brantley had a breakout season: hitting .327 with 20 home runs, 97 RBI, and 23 stolen bases, en route to his first All-Star game appearance. Brantley was named the second best overall player of 2014 by Fangraphs, behind only Mike Trout. Brantley’s contract was extended in February, locking him up for another four years.



Chicago White Sox v Cleveland Indians

Yan Gomes was arguably the best overall catcher in the American League in 2014 after putting up a .278 average, 21 homers and 74 RBI. Gomes also threw out 31 runners. The Indians also signed him to a contract extension just before the 2014 season began, locking him up in Cleveland until 2021.


The rest of the American League winners are as follows:

1B: Jose Abreu, Chicago White Sox, (.317, 36 HR, 107 RBI)

2B: Jose Altuve, Houston Astros, (.341, 7 HR, 59 RBI, 56 SB)

3B: Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers, (.324, 19 HR, 77 RBI)

SS: Alexei Ramirez, Chicago White Sox, (.273, 15 HR, 74 RBI, 21 SB)

OF: Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jays, (.286, 35 HR, 103 RBI, 104 BB)

OF: Michael Brantley, Cleveland Indians, (.327, 20 HR, 97 RBI, 23 SB)

OF: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels, (.287, 36 HR, 111 RBI, 83 BB)

C: Yan Gomes, Cleveland Indians, (.278, 21 HR, 74 RBI)

DH: Victor Martinez, Detroit Tigers, (.335, 32, HR, 103 RBI, 70 BB)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :